Lately I've really been feeling like I relate to the dada and absurdist movements.
I don't understand why people care so much about "the meaning of life".
I don't think there is a meaning, but when I say that it tends to make people think that I'm stating it depressively. I'm not. I don't think life needs a meaning. I think it's okay for life to be meaningless. I think if you walk outside and feel the sun on your skin or stand in the rain or lay in the snow and breathe and just let yourself be, it's a lot better than trying to say that the meaning of life is to be happy, or to be rich, to get married and have kids, to do whatever.
I also don't think that we really need dictionaries. There are whole communities of people dedicated just to telling us what is or isn't a word. Why does it even matter? Why is depressive a word but I can't add the -ly suffix to it? Why can't I just say how I feel? They tell us proper sentence structure and how to use commas and when to write out a number and when to use the numerical figure for it but words are just lines and dots on a page or here on the internet and eventually they won't mean anything to anybody anyway.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment